What positions do the Federal Wage System cover?
The Federal Wage System, also called the wage grade system or prevailing rate system, covers blue-collar trades, crafts, and manual labor positions and associated foreman and supervisory positions.

The pay of the federal government’s blue-collar employees is set as an hourly rate adjusted in accordance with pay rates in local markets. The wage grade schedule used for most non-supervisory workers contains 15 grades. Each of the grades includes five steps, which are set at 4 percent increments.

Pay scales are locality-based, meaning that rates for the same grade and step vary from one place to another.

2021 Digital Almanac

Stay Connected

Latest Forum Posts

Ask the Expert

Have a question regarding your federal employee benefits or retirement?

Submit a question