Thursday Trivia

By FederalDaily Staff

Blog archive

Federal holidays

Which federal holiday was not included in the first five congressionally designated holidays that at the time of approval were only applicable to federal employees in the District of Columbia?

A. Thanksgiving

B. Christmas

C. Decoration Day (Now Memorial Day)

D. Independence Day

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Scroll down for the answer>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Answer: C.  Approved in the 1870s, the first five congressionally designated federal holidays were New Year’s Day, George Washington’s birthday, Independence Day, Thanksgiving Day, and Christmas Day. Memorial Day was not officially designated until 1888 and Labor Day, 1894. Learn more.

Posted by FederalDaily Staff on Nov 14, 2013 at 4:02 PM

Reader comments

Please post your comments here. Comments are moderated, so they may not appear immediately after submitting. We will not post comments that we consider abusive or off-topic.

Please type the letters/numbers you see above

2020 Digital Almanac

Stay Connected

Latest Forum Posts

Ask the Expert

Have a question regarding your federal employee benefits or retirement?

Submit a question