Union: 13 new pay localities to launch in 2016

New pay localities will be established in 13 metropolitan areas in January 2016, a federal employee union reported.

According to a post on the American Federation of Government Employees website, the union "received assurances" at a May 22 meeting with Office of Management and Budget Deputy Director for Management Beth Cobert that locality pay would be expanded to 13 more cities. The changes means that feds in those metro areas would begin receiving salaries based on labor market conditions in those localities.

The 13 cities are: Albany, N.Y.; Albuquerque, N.M.; Austin, Texas; Charlotte, N.C.; Colorado Springs, Colo.; Davenport, Iowa; Harrisburg, Pa.; Kansas City, Mo.; Laredo, Texas; Las Vegas, Nev.; Palm Bay, Fla.; St. Louis, Mo.; and Tucson, Ariz.

AFGE noted that the President’s Pay Agent—an advisory group consisting of the secretary of labor and the directors of OMB and the Office of Personnel Management—had tentatively approved establishment of the new localities in May 2013, but the administration failed to act on that approval at the beginning of 2014.

Reader comments

Wed, May 27, 2015

what about stations assigned to Laredo Sector?

Wed, May 27, 2015

now the question is. what will the percentages be?

Wed, May 27, 2015

About time

Please post your comments here. Comments are moderated, so they may not appear immediately after submitting. We will not post comments that we consider abusive or off-topic.

Please type the letters/numbers you see above

2020 Digital Almanac

Stay Connected

Latest Forum Posts

Ask the Expert

Have a question regarding your federal employee benefits or retirement?

Submit a question